Act 9

February 29, 2008

Viola’s Bookshelf – A Gender Exchange Library

I was really pleased with the way last weeks piece, the gender exchanged version of Cory Doctorow’s Scroogled, turned out, so much so that I wanted to expand the project. I also thought that people would be more likely to read the story if they did not have to download it, but instead were able to view it through their browser.

To achieve this I have created Viola’s Bookshelf, a new blog dedicated to making available gender swapped versions of copyright available fiction.  I have started it off by uploading the version of Scroogled I adapted in act 8, and will upload a second piece later this week. After that I plan to add one new story adapted by me per month, and as many from other people that get submitted.

From the Viola’s Bookshelf ‘about’ page:

Viola’s Bookshelf is a project blog dedicated to publishing altered out of copyright, or creative commons licensed fiction, where the character’s genders have been reversed. The idea behind this is to help provide an understanding of gender construction in fiction and to an extent in everyday life. It is also expected to have the added benefit of increasing the stories available with female protagonists and background characters.

I anticipate adding new stories to the library at the rate of one per month, in addition to any sent to me for uploading by readers. If you have a legally available story that you have given a gender exchange treatment to and you would like me to include it on the site please email me at ’sajbrfem at g mail dotcom’ (without all the spaces) and let me know.

Please enjoy the stories and comment liberally, open discussion is encouraged and appreciated. Also feel free to suggest future stories that you think would be interesting with this treatment.

One Response to “Act 9”


  1. […] adding it here as an act of cyberfeminism because the discussion itself came out of musings about Act 9 (oh wow, I can’t believe it was so long ago!), Viola’s Bookshelf, and my observation […]


Leave a Reply

